eBook Lovers Co-Op

A blog focused on showcasing Indie authors and their work through articles, social networking, discussion, and sharing the indie love.

Great Article on the craft of sentence writing – Craft and Draft: Branching Out

I’m always browsing articles by other writers about the craft of writing. I found this particular article very informative and useful, as it speaks to the use of specific types of sentence structure within the same ‘voice’ to keep readers engaged.

For myself, it was not only informative, but also very affirming as a writer. It helped me feel more confident in the way I tell my stories, as I do indeed tend to use all three types of sentences, and am often second guessing my own writing as a result.

It’s nice to know that my use of all three types is not some literary faux paus that I’m going to get nailed for later by some persnickety editor down the line.

I write what I want to read, and in a voice I want to read, because I follow the simple adage – if you are the writer and you’re skimming your own work because the language is too simple or too complex (pick your poison), then your readers will do the same.

Hope you enjoy this article as much as I did 🙂

Craft and Draft: Branching Out « Literature and Libation.

4 comments on “Great Article on the craft of sentence writing – Craft and Draft: Branching Out

  1. Oliver
    February 19, 2013

    Thanks for the link!

    I’m really glad you got something out of my post. Second guessing your writing usually leads to close editing, which usually leads to a tighter final piece, so I don’t see that as a bad thing. Ultimately, as long as you’re making a conscious and deliberate effort in your syntax, you can get away with writing however you want 🙂

  2. Vividhunter
    February 19, 2013

    Thanks for the share!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 892 other followers

Post Categories

Blog Archive

Follow Me on Networked Blogs

We’re on Google+

Followers

